Album Review: Defeated Sanity – “The Sanguinary Impetus” 8.2/10 (Brutal Death)

Written by Zax

  • Defeated Sanity
  • The Sanguinary Impetus
  • Technical Brutal Death Metal
  • July 24th, 2020
  • Willowtip Records
  • 8.2/10

So, full transparency, this is the most excited I’ve ever been for an early release. I’m a huge Defeated Sanity fan, and the day I found out they were releasing a new album AND I had early access, I freaked the fuck out. In case you aren’t familiar Defeated Sanity is a technical brutal death metal band, and their new album The Sanguinary Impetus comes out on July 24th. This is their first album since 2016, and their 4th album on Willowtip Records (who’ve had an amazing year in 2020, I might add)

These guys are a very unique band, their gory aesthetics, belligerent riffs, raw production, and brutal guttural vocals would lead you to believe they’re a brutal death metal band, but what makes them so interesting is how they use insane song structures and time signatures to incorporate technicality into their brutality.

There is not one predictable moment on this album. The drum beats and song structures change on a dime and it is musical chaos. I found myself throughout the album several times trying to drum out the instrumentals with my fingers, trying to place anything into a standard brutal death metal formula, and that didn’t happen even once. The complexity and spontaneous shifts on this record keep things interesting and exciting for the listener, not to mention the breakneck speeds in which they perform those shifts.

The production is on the more raw side, for death metal anyway, the riffs are snarled and nasty sounding right out the gate. Defeated Sanity has always had very present bass lines, on this album in particular they shine so hard. As I’ve said, the drum work is absolutely ridiculous.

Defeated Sanity: Spotify / Bandcamp / Facebook / Instagram

The vocals are pure filth, nasty gutturals and screams that will leave you mind blown. The blend very nicely with the brutality and complexity of the music.

This might be the band’s most ambitious release yet, which is saying a lot considering their track record. New listeners can prepare themselves to be blown away, while old fans can expect more greatness from this legendary band!


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.