ENSLAVED release new single “Homebound”

Heavy News by Katha

Norway’s avantgarde metal heroes ENSLAVED are set to release their new album “Utgard” in autumn 2020, first details have been revealed over the past weeks. Now, they release their new single “Homebound”. Check out the song and video here:

The band states: “Homebound” is about the greatest reward of exploring and travelling into unknown territory – to “go Viking” if you will, turning Homebound at the end of the journey. It is a song that takes Enslaved on a musical journey that is as much an homage to those who dared so we could play our very own style of music: from nurturing blackened roots to nodding at zeppelins in the sky, beholding Teutonic thrash titans and watching speeding motorpsychos take off into the futures.”

The new single is gonna be available on a Edition 7″ vinyl format, limited to 500 pieces, which will be out on June 26th and can be pre-ordered HERE.

The B-side of the “Homebound” Vinyl is an exclusive to this format. Track-List:

1. Homebound [A-side]

2. Knights Of The New Thunder (TNT Cover) [B-side]



The band says about their upcoming album: “Utgard bears countless meanings to us; an image, metaphor, an esoteric ‘location’, a word on its own etc. – on different levels and layers. From Norse mythology we know it as a landscape where the giants roam; where the gods of Asgard have no control; dangerous, chaotic, uncontrollable and where madness, creativeness, humour and chaos dwell.

The album is a journey into and through Utgard. It is a place of unification of that which is above and that which lies below. It is not about avoiding fear of the pitch-black darkness (it will keep on growing until the next confrontation), but to go into the darkness itself. This is the rebirth of the individual. In a world that has become so obsessed with the false lights of greed, jealousy and egotism this is a necessary journey.

Utgard is not a fairytale, it is a vital part of both your mind and your surroundings, and it has been since the dawn of mankind. Acknowledging that this realm exists and is a vital part of the self, has inspired us deeply since the early days of our lives. Enjoy our journey to the outer limits.”


1. Fires In The Dark
2. Jettegryta
3. Sequence
4. Homebound
5. Utgardr
6. Urjotun
7. Flight Of Thought And Memory
8. Storms Of Utgard
9. Distant Seasons


Grutle Kjellson – Vocals & Bass

Ivar Bjørnson – Guitars & FX

Ice Dale – Guitars

Håkon Vinje – Keyboards & Vocals

Cato Bekkevold – Drums

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.